Wall Street & Technology is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.


09:52 AM
Leslie Kramer
Leslie Kramer
Connect Directly

CBOE Elects Board Members

The Chicago Board Options Exchange (CBOE) membership, during its annual election held Thursday, November 20, elected six individuals to the CBOE Board of Directors to fill expired and vacant positions. The new terms begin on January 1, 2009.

Among the six individuals elected to the CBOE Board of Directors, three are incumbent public directors re-elected to serve three-year terms: James Boris, Carole Stone and Eugene Sunshine. James Boris is a retired Chairman and chief executive officer of EVEREN Capital Corporation and EVEREN Securities, Inc. Carole Stone is a former director for the New York State Division of the Budget. Eugene Sunshine is the senior vice president for business and finance at Northwestern University. Three individuals were re-elected to the Board of Directors to serve as industry directors: Benjamin Londergan, William Power and Jonathan Werts.

Benjamin Londergan, the co-chief executive officer of Group One Trading, was re-elected to a three-year term as a floor director. William Power, a CBOE member, was re-elected to a three-year term as a lessor director. Jonathan Werts, managing director, Merrill Lynch Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., was re-elected to a one-year term as an off-floor director. "These talented business executives have made significant contributions to the leadership of the Exchange, and I am pleased to welcome them back to CBOE's Board," said CBOE Chairman and chief executive officer, William J. Brodsky, in a press release. "I look forward to continuing to work with them, and our entire Board, on the initiatives that will chart the future course of CBOE's business," he said.

CBOE's Board of Directors consists of 22 members, equally balanced between 11 Public (independent, non-industry) and 11 industry (member) directors, plus the Chairman and chief executive officer of CBOE. CBOE's governance structure also includes a lead director, a public director, who acts as a liaison between the Board and Exchange management. CBOE's Governance, audit and compensation committees are each chaired by a public director, and the regulatory oversight committee is comprised solely of public directors. In other election results, four individuals were elected to the nominating committee. Howard Gillman, managing director, electronic brokerage systems, was elected to a three-year term as a firm member. Frank Hirsch, CBOE member, was elected to a three-year term as a floor member. Richard Lund, managing member, TRO Trading Group, was elected to a three-year term as a lessor member. Richard Thomas, retired Chairman, First Chicago NBD Corporation, was elected to a three-year term as a public member.

The Nominating Committee, a ten-person committee comprised of a cross section of the CBOE membership and public representatives, is charged with nominating candidates for the Board of Directors and the Nominating Committee.

Register for Wall Street & Technology Newsletters
Exclusive: Inside the GETCO Execution Services Trading Floor
Exclusive: Inside the GETCO Execution Services Trading Floor
Advanced Trading takes you on an exclusive tour of the New York trading floor of GETCO Execution Services, the solutions arm of GETCO.